CQT announces the Quantum Shorts 2014 contest for short films

The competition, now in its third year, has Scientific American and Nature as media partners
17 September 2014

poster for quantum shorts 2014

The Quantum Shorts competition is back for it's third run. After the fantastic response to our contests for quantum-inspired films in 2012 and for flash fiction in 2013, this year Quantum Shorts is calling for films again. We seek movies up to three minutes long that draw on the intriguing characters, crazy ideas, and ready-made plot twists of quantum physics.

The Centre for Quantum Technologies (CQT) gratefully acknowledges support from Scientific American and Nature as media partners for Quantum Shorts 2014. The contest, hosted at shorts.quantumlah.org, is accepting entries until 23:59 on 1 February 2015 EST.

Eminent judges will award Winner and Runner Up prizes in open and student categories, and a public vote on the shortlist will decide a People's Choice prize. This year's judges are listed below (and full bios are on the competition site here).

"My first-hand experience of the thrills of the quantum world gives me every confidence that we can expect some thrilling films. I will have popcorn ready," says Artur Ekert, CQT's Director and a judge in the Open International Category.

To inspire entries this year, the Quantum Shorts 2014 website features films shortlisted in 2012. It also offers resources including an A to Z guide to quantum theory.

The Quantum Shorts competitions are a major project of CQT's outreach programme, inviting students and the general public to join CQT in exploring the quantum world.

Judges for Quantum Shorts 2014

Open International Category

  • Ben Bowie, twice-Emmy-nominated director and executive producer
  • Mariette DiChristina, Editor in Chief of Scientific American
  • Artur Ekert, Director of CQT and Professor of Quantum Physics at the University of Oxford, UK
  • Honor Harger, Executive Director of Singapore's ArtScience Museum
  • Ariane Koek, Director and creator of Arts at CERN programmes
  • Charlotte Stoddart, Head of Multimedia at Nature

Student Categories

  • Greg Dick, Director of Educational Outreach at Canada's Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics
  • Yuni Hadi, film producer, Executive Director of the Singapore International Film Festival
  • Dagomir Kaszlikowski, Principal Investigator at CQT
  • Derek Muller, creator of the YouTube channel Veritasium
  • Jennifer Ouellette, author of popular science books, blogger at Cocktail Party Physics
  • Pang Kian Tiong, programmes and exhibitions at Singapore Science Centre